Welcome

The Institute of Thermodynamics and Sustainable Propulsion Systems at Graz University of Technology is dedicated to providing innovative and internationally recognized teaching and research in the interconnected system energy, engines, traffic and environment and to contributing to the solution of problems that affect the environment.

READ MORE

Event Highlights

Upcoming event hilights.


Bachelor/ Master Theses Topic Presentation ITnA 16.11.2022

Presentation of current topics of bachelor and master theses at the institute via webex on16.11.2022 at 10.00.... exit_to_app


today MORE EVENTS

News

News about the institute.

Truck goes future-proof! (Autofocus 9.3.2022)

On Wednesday, March 9, 2022, the magazine Autofocus showed the latest developments on low-emission drive systems for heavy-duty vehicles. A measurement of the particle count on a modern diesel truck, ... exit_to_app


IVT renamed to ITNA

IVT becomes ITnA! At the beginning of the year, the institute changed its name to "Institute of Thermodynamics and Sustainable Propulsion Systems" to particularly reflect current developments in resea... exit_to_app


Review BRAFA – Fire Effects of Vehicles with Alternative Drive Systems

We know that the energy storage systems of e-vehicles based on lithium-ion technology behave differently than conventional car engines in the event of a fire. But what exactly happens when e-vehicles ... exit_to_app


100 years of IVT - book presentation

In 1920, the dynamic development of the comparatively young scientific discipline of thermodynamics and its application to heat engines in connection with its, as it was said, "crucial importance for ... exit_to_app


Review summer party and 101-year-celebration

Due Corona, the 100th anniversary of the Institute of Internal Combustion Engines and Thermodynamics was postponed by 1 year. On July 9, 2021, the time had finally come and our summer party could take... exit_to_app


newspaper ARCHIVE

Research areas at the institut

The research activities of the Institute are carried out within the framework of national and international funded projects (EU projects, Austrian Competence Center Program, Christian Doppler Laboratory, FFG projects, etc.) as well as in research cooperations with partners from industry, public authorities and other research institutions.

Working Process– Analysis and Simulation

Working Process– Analysis and Simulation

The objective of the research area Working Process – Analysis and Simulation is to simulate the thermodynamics of the working process completely. This is achieved by developing and optimizing tools in...

more...
Design

Design

The research activities of this area cover the design of engines, transmission units, engine peripherals and exhaust gas after-treatment systems for high-speed internal combustion engines. This also i...

more...
Propulsion Systems

Propulsion Systems

The targets and development foci for future propulsion systems strongly depend on the legal requirements concerning emission and consumption reduction. Approaches for their fulfillment reach from the ...

more...
Emissions

Emissions

The task of the research area is to investigate and deal with pollutant emissions and energy consumption from motor vehicles. Research activities include measurements on chassis dynamometers and engin...

more...
Thermodynamics

Thermodynamics

The research area “Thermodynamics” deals with thermodynamic questions of selected mechanical engineering topics. The field of activities includes the analysis of energetic and thermodynamic process...

more...
Traffic and Environment

Traffic and Environment

Objective of this research area is to investigate and manage the interrelated processes of emission and dispersion of airborne pollutants with an emphasis on recording traffic emissions and their disp...

more...

Herzlich willkommen

Das Institut für Thermodynamik und nachhaltige Antriebssysteme der Technischen Universität Graz hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, im vernetzten System Energie, Motor, Verkehr und Umwelt innovative und international anerkannte Lehre und Forschung zu betreiben und insbesondere zur Lösung umweltrelevanter Fragestellungen beizutragen.

WEITERLESEN

Event Highlights

Kommende Events und Veranstaltungen des Institutes.


today WEITERE EVENTS

Aktuelles

Aktuelles rund um das Institut.

LKW goes zukunftsfit! (Autofocus 9.3.2022)

Das Magazin Autofocus zeigte am Mittwoch, den 9.3.2022, die neuesten Entwicklungen zu emissionsarmen Antriebssystemen bei schweren Nutzfahrzeugen. Dabei wird eine Messung der Partikelanzahl an einem m... exit_to_app


Aus IVT wird ITNA

Aus IVT wird ITnA! Das Institut hat sich mit Jahresbeginn in „Institut für Thermodynamik und nachhaltige Antriebssysteme“ umbenannt, um den aktuellen Entwicklungen in der Forschung und Lehre auch im N... exit_to_app


Rückblick 18. Tagung

Der Bedarf an Mobilität, Transport und Energiebereitstellung steigt welt­weit stetig an. Wie sehen nachhaltige Konzepte dazu aus und welche Lösungs­ansätze gibt es bereits? Diese Frage stand beim Symp... exit_to_app


Rückblick BRAFA - Brandauswirkungen von Fahrzeugen mit alternativen Antriebssystemen

Die auf Lithium-Ionen-Technologie basierenden Energiespeicher von E-Fahrzeugen verhalten sich im Brandfall anders als herkömmliche Automotoren. Aber was passiert genau, wenn E-Fahrzeuge im Tunnel bren... exit_to_app


100 Jahre IVT - Buchpräsentation

1920 führte die dynamische Entwicklung der vergleichsweise jungen Wissenschaftsdisziplin Thermodynamik und deren Anwendung auf Wärmekraftmaschinen in Verbindung mit der, wie es hieß, „für die Energiew... exit_to_app


newspaper WEITER IM ARCHIV

Forschungs­bereiche am Institut

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Instituts werden im Rahmen von nationalen und internationalen Förderungsprojekten (EU-Projekte, österreichisches Kompetenzzentrenprogramm, Christian-Doppler-Labor, FFG-Projekte, etc.) sowie in Forschungskooperationen mit Partnern aus der Industrie, Behörden und anderer Forschungseinrichtungen durchgeführt.

Arbeitsprozess – Analyse und Simulation

Arbeitsprozess – Analyse und Simulation

Das wesentliche Ziel der Aktivitäten im Forschungsbereich „Arbeitsprozess – Analyse und Simulation“ ist die letztendlich vollständige Simulation der thermodynamischen Vorgänge des Arbeitsprozesses. D...

weiterlesen...
Konstruktion und Auslegung

Konstruktion und Auslegung

Die Aktivitäten des Forschungsbereiches erstrecken sich auf die Erforschung, Entwicklung, Konstruktion und Auslegung von Kleinfahrzeug- und Powersportantrieben sowie Antriebssystemen. Neben konvention...

weiterlesen...
Antriebssysteme

Antriebssysteme

Die Vorgaben und Entwicklungsschwerpunkte für zukünftige Antriebssysteme werden vor allem durch gesetzliche Anforderungen zur Emissions- und Verbrauchsabsenkung geprägt. Die Ansätze zu deren Erfüllung...

weiterlesen...
Emissionen

Emissionen

Der Forschungsbereich ist spezialisiert auf den Themenbereich Schadstoffemissionen und Energieverbrauch von Kraftfahrzeugen. Die Forschungsaktivitäten umfassen die Messungen an Rollen- und Motorprüfs...

weiterlesen...
Thermodynamik

Thermodynamik

Der Forschungsbereich Thermodynamik befasst sich mit thermodynamischen Aspekten in ausgewählten Teilgebieten des Maschinenbaus. Im Rahmen laufender Forschungsprojekte werden thermodynamische Vorgänge ...

weiterlesen...
Verkehr und Umwelt

Verkehr und Umwelt

Die Aufgabe des Fachbereiches ist die Erforschung und Behandlung des Wirkungskreises Emissionen und Ausbreitung von Luftschadstoffen. Dabei steht die Erfassung der Schadstoffemissionen von Kraftfahrze...

weiterlesen...